Playing Host


At first you wanted a friend,
I obliged, time is money however
and I paid the price being around you
as our friendship evolved, parasitic.

Next you wanted knowledge, to act:
how why when where what who in addition to
every other fact that I could divulge, and you judged none,
but echoed them one after another into others ears.

Finally you robbed the food from my garden
as I now chomp down on empty cold steel
grinding my teeth all the while as I saw you,
fill yourself on what I had sown.

I stand now, supported by weak limbs devoid of strength
to cut you off, but you have already found a new host.

4 thoughts on “Playing Host

  1. It reminds me of when I used to live at a Buddhist centre and even though everyone was great, there was an obvious difference between those who came because they were well rounded, really compassionate and wanted to give something and drive it on; and those who were lost, needed something fixing in their lives and at the base of it could only take take take. Really nice

    Like

Please feel free to comment on anything regarding this post.

