Forced Smile


Inside of myself exists a soul more powerful
than the muscles that give me the strength
to smile each and every day as I continue
to live my life knowing.

Knowing that your absence is only physical
yet my spirit cannot connect to you just yet,
every day, hour, minute, second,
exists as a reverberation.

Echoing that time when I last
saw you, heard you, felt you.
Your words silently fell lifeless from your lips
as you sounded out an unintentional goodbye.

Effectively ending and beginning chapters in my life
both with and without you and so now I smile, for us.

2 thoughts on “Forced Smile

Please feel free to comment on anything regarding this post.

