Revisit


I recount our memories alone,
still flashbacks pass before my eyes
as I look into, us, seeing you
knowing this is the only way I ever will again.

I visit our old place
where smiles can no longer exist,
my head hung, staring at my hands
holding only air and the afterimage of yours.

I try to forget, block out the years,
but I don’t want to lose the sharp feelings of
love and betrayal that help me to feel human
unparalleled by my memories without you.

I was never prepared for the end,
even though I always knew our fate.

Please feel free to comment on anything regarding this post.

